Operation: Life

Operation Maturity

Posted on: June 7, 2010

It’s become blatantly obvious to me that adults can often be worse than children when it comes to being selfish and immature. Sure, most adults won’t pitch a fit if someone eats their cookie. But it seems adults are worse when it comes to bigger issues. SOME adults.

Yes, this post originated from personal experience & a need to vent. But isn’t that the real purpose of a blog anyway? And no, I don’t expect people to care. But it feels good to “say” these things out loud even if just to the empty internet abyss.

It’s true when they say that all kinds of complications arise when you are planning a wedding. Thankfully, these have actually been at a minimum for us.

But a couple parties have been immature, selfish and bitter. Unnecessarily, if you ask me. Let’s just say A & B do not get along. They are in-laws to one another & close relatives to my fiance. There was a falling out years ago & they haven’t spoken since. No one, including A&B, remember exactly what happened. They just know they don’t like one another. Because A will be at the wedding, B will not attend. Because B will not attend, my fiance’s last living grandparent will not be there. This is very disappointing to my fiance.

If that was confusing or sounded like an algebra problem, I apologize. Not that any of the aforementioned parties read my blog, but I wanted to be as discrete as possible anyway.

Regardless of the details, I think you get what I’m trying to say. Grown-ups are acting worse than children because they won’t put aside differences for ONE.day. A day that is bigger and more important than their stupid fight. I wouldn’t expect them to change or reconcile at the wedding, and obviously we all know better than to sit them together. But I do NOT, for the life of me, understand why adults cannot go beyond themselves for ONE day and celebrate something special that everyone is happy about.

I wish I could say the following, in no particular order:

  • Stop being selfish.
  • Realize that you are hurting people you love & who love you just to make sure 1 single person knows you still don’t like him/her.
  • Keep your bitter thoughts bottled up for 4 hours. Scowl in your chair if you must.
  • Get over yourself.
  • Understand that our wedding is not about you.
  • Our wedding was not designed as your opportunity to slight someone else.
  • Even a 5 year old can do those things from time to time. Maybe you can pretend you’re 6.
