Operation: Life

My New Language

Posted on: March 13, 2010

It’s come to my attention recently that complaints seem to have become the language of the day. I am guilty of this myself. There are days at work when negative thoughts and complaints and whining are the only things that can come to mind.

Sure, I could blame it on stress, co-workers, bad luck or other people in general. But in the end, it’s my choice. I choose to be negative. I choose to be angry or frustrated. I choose to be the “victim” of my day. I choose to lash out at others.

Over the past few months or so, I’ve noticed that some people do nothing but complain, even on days where there is so much to be happy and thankful for. This does not go to say that some days are bad or some things call for a few tears of anger or sadness. But when it comes to things like vacations, weddings, honeymoons, family gatherings, holidays, anniversaries, birthdays… days that should be filled with joy… why do we look for ways to complain?

Maybe it’s because my mind is in wedding-mode, but why do (some) brides especially seem to make big deals over nothing? Yes, it may rain on your wedding. Welcome to the real world where we cannot control the weather- be thankful for the way it smells so fresh when it rains. No, random strangers may not care you’re on your honeymoon. Welcome to a world that is not centered around you- be happy that you’re married and with your new spouse!

But I digress… I’m simply saying I’m done. I may not be able to promise to never complain again, and let’s face it- sometimes we bond with one another over mutual frustrations and/or circumstances. But that doesn’t mean I will let the “badness” take over my days anymore. I have been looking forward to this year for a long time and I refuse to let a few minor setbacks ruin it. The bad only makes the good seem sweeter.

This is 2010– the year I marry the love of my life, the year I achieve my Master’s Degree, the year my “little” brother graduates and goes off to grad school, the year for moving onward and upward. And another chance to become a better person.

