Operation: Life

Post-Session Thoughts

Posted on: January 21, 2010

I’m happy to be back in Florida but (as always) I was glad to be able to attend session. It’s always good for a morale boost/kick in the academic-butt. And it’s always great to catch up with friends and faculty.

I’m excited and curious to see what this course (767) will teach me/develop in me. It definitely involves work that gets me out of my “box” (which lately seems to be filled with nothing but research, reading and paper writing).  Making a piece of media (other than the typical powerpoint presentation) is not something I have ever done, but something (especially in this field) that I need to be able to do.

One thing Jason said that I need to remind myself was, “don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good.” I know I can be a perfectionist and therefore I am highly critical of my work, no matter what it is. This doesn’t go to say that I should not try my best and produce quality work, but if my work isn’t “ground-breaking-change-history” kind of work, it’s okay. I suppose, overall, I never expected my work/my (eventual) career to change the course of history. I just want it to be meaningful. If my work is meaningful and purposeful and important to me or anyone else… I will be satisfied.

